RockstarUnited

Hi guys,

Here's hoping somebody can give me some advice. Thanks in advance :)
I'm a 19-year-old conservatory student in Amsterdam. I'm fairly new to playing professionally and found that the Yamaha Stage Custom Advantage Nouveau I got 5 years ago (on my fourteenth birthday) just doesn't cut it...

So now I'm looking for a pro kit. My style is mainly Rock/Alternative, favourite artists being Soundgarden, Foo Fighters, Jeff Buckley, but I like basically everything from Earth, Wind & Fire to Pendulum.
My favourite drummers are Matt Cameron, Dave Grohl, Steve Gadd, anyone in general who always plays for the song, how heavy it may be.

So what I'm looking for is a kit that can deliver a huge rock sound, but that's still open, woodsy and rich enough to be used in a pop setting. I'm also thinking of getting wood hoops, for the richness they give.
My favourite recorded drum sound is Superunknown by Soundgarden, such a huge open woodsy sound. I also really liked the drums on Them Crooked Vultures' record.

So I'm thinking of getting a Yamaha Birch Custom Absolute or Oak Custom set, in 24/12/13/16/18. My teacher's endorsed, so he'll help me get a good price if I decide to go Yamaha. I am willing to pay up to max.4 grand, though less would of course be great :).
I would really appreciate it if anyone could tell me if there are alternatives that I should consider!

Thanks in advance,
Stijn

Well if you intend on going with a Yamaha Recording or Oak Custom you can't go wrong with either... ALL the reviews are killer on both kits... Personally I've owned 3 gretsch renown kits and they're stellar little kits but they don't "rock" as hard as either of those yamahas.
My latest kit was a Pearl Masters MCX and it ROCKED, big time... It was a litte too powerful for what I was going for because I play alot of 90's so I needed a really open sound.