Help with buying drum set

im looking to get a nice affordable drum set for under $350. i have some knowledge of what brands make good quality drums, but does anyone have some recommendations?

In Washington, if you want to buy local, you'll probably look at craigslist, and if you have a musicgoround, or a local guitar center store, you could try there.
If you don't mind having something shipped, guitar center currently has 305 used drum sets for $350 or less.

Last edited:
mapex, ludwig, roland, etc. anything really
Well ..... Roland makes e-drums, the other two acoustic ..... so, does it matter to you which?

At your price point, I'd look at Craigslist, and see if anything local looks good. And if you need hardware & cymbals included in that $350, you're looking at probably a used entry level kit being sold by someone who is either giving up, or stepping up into a more expensive set.

Are you also looking for cymbals (hats, ride, and crash) and hardware (snare stand, hi-hat stand, throne, two cymbal stands, and bass drum pedal)? If you want everything for $350 you'll have to buy used off CL or fB marketplace. I would recommend a whole set (everything together) in order to get the most value. It will be beginner quality but will get you drumming while you save for and decide if you want a better kit. Are you near Seattle?

Another nod of the head to local Craigslist/Marketplace here. Just don't be in a hurry - you'll find the right kit within your budget. Plus, as you wait, you can add a few bucks to your drum fund! I spent a bit over six months looking on CL and found my forever drum set.

Another nod of the head to local Craigslist/Marketplace here. Just don't be in a hurry - you'll find the right kit within your budget. Plus, as you wait, you can add a few bucks to your drum fund! I spent a bit over six months looking on CL and found my forever drum set.
What was your forever drum set?