Zoom H6 Opinions?

OldReliable

I’ve been looking for a quick solution to Tape my drums and have them sound good, and the Zoom H6 seems like it could solve my problems. Have any of you guys used them, and what do you think about the audio quality?

Thanks,
OldReliable

Ive used the Zoom H4n and it delivered good results, but I used external mics, not the internal/built-in ones. This gave me less of the room sound, and a tighter drum sound.

For best results, make sure you don't clip any audio while not using the limiter. It takes a few tests to get the input settings right, especially if your dynamic range is large (i.e., play soft to very loud).

Recording-wise I am a rank amateur, but I have found the H6 simple to use with very good audio quality using both the built in and external mic options.

I am at work now but when I get home I may be able to post a sample or two.

Bo Eder used to use one as well so if you do a search he has a lot of good info on them.

I had one and it’s handy. It sounds great. If you use with just the mounted microphones that comes for it, then cool. As soon as I used as a six-track recorder, it became this unwieldy box with octopus arms sticking out of it - not ideal. But as a stand-alone, it’s great.

It kinda depends on what you want to do. If you just plan on using it with the built-in stereo microphones, you don't necessarily need all the options the H6 will afford you. When I got mine, it came wit the stereo mics, then a ball mid-side microphone. I also purchased the extra XLR module which gives you up to six XLR connections - turning it into a 6-track recorder. There are also other accessory mics you can get, like a shotgun mic.

If you don't need all those option, the H6 will probably be overkill - because there's a lot of smaller stereo recorders with built in stereo mics that sound just s good.