Which kit to keep?

The Dreamer

First timer. From Australia.
I am lucky enough to be in possession of two kits. Both in very nice nick. A Gretsch Catalina Birch 7 piece and just lately, a Pearl 6 piece Vision VBX (the older model) in Orange Sparkle, which is truly a good looker. I just couldn't pass up the price on the Vision. I am only a bit better than a beginner, and even though I have the opportunity to sit at both kits, I simply do not know which one to keep. To me, they both sound similar. But I am a real novice. Going into the future I would like to think I made the right choice as I improve...........Could you guys just throw your two-bobs worth with in please? Would appreciate it greatly.

A good position to be in & I am in the same one.
Both of your kits are good quality & sound. I really like the Visions & would be tempted to keep those (If they are the 6/8's, 6 ply toms, 8 ply Bass & Floor).

Yes Frosticles they are that. The VBX series. I pulled them down completely polished and greased etc.....and it was obvious that the ply thickness was different....
The later VBL's I read are 6's all 'round........
so you lean towards the Visions eh? Thank for your reply Frosticles

I can't offer anything re the kits but welcome to the forum. I Like the "two bobs worth" - real old aussie saying. Is that Mundulla in SA? I'm in Adelaide.

Putting my preference for Pearl asside... the Vision line is discontinued, so you can't get any add-ons from Pearl anymore. Might be that you can find some on eBay someday. I believe the Gretsch still is being made, so you can get add-ons.