Sound proofing - feedback on my plan

Maryborough Matt

Hi All, I'm looking for knowledgeable opinions on sound "proofing" a room. Or rather, substantially muting a room - rather than build another room inside the room, I want to just treat the room itself at this point.

I want some advice on my plan, so I don't waste my money and time.

Situation:
-I'm a drummer at the edge of a rural town (Australia).
-I gave up the beginning of a professional music career when young, and last year took up the drums again with something of the old passion. I own my own home, and I'm going to dedicate this room to music. 3.4 X 3.4 metres.
-Play my acoustic kit for an hour or two most afternoons, plus after 7pm I do technical practice on a muted kit, and after 10pm an electronic one.
-I'm more a soul, jazz, blues, folk musician than a loud rocker. So we're talking moderate drumming volume.
-I have only one immediate neighbour, otherwise it's bush or acearage properties who can't hear me. So it's really about keeping peace with that one neighbour. They've never complained, however they refuse to speak to me (or any other neighbour) so I can't just communicate with them. I'm taking proactive steps to keep the peace (plus I suspect they could turn full bogan) - I know I have certain rights, but this is about diminishing risks and so feeling free and relaxed as I play. And more able to play the acoustic kit in the evenings, within reason.
-Doing the work myself, I can blow a grand or two, but not significantly more at this time. I'm certainly no tradie, but I have basic skills, and I'm surrounded by handy people.
-1940s owner-built house, mud brick walls about a foot thick, concrete floors, original corrugated iron roof. The ceiling is thin plywood.

Plan:
-Block the window: acoustic batt against the glass, then solid piece of wood drilled into the window frame, with something to seal the gaps (strips of mass loaded vinyl (MLV) or acoustic silicone).