Roland TD9-K2 vs Alesis Command Mesh

Drealler

I'm beginner looking for a setup that will not need to be changed soon. A friend of mine is selling his Roland TD9-K2 with almost no use and I looked in near stores the Alesis Command Mesh. Considering that I'm a fast learner and I pretend to play Metal which one would you choose ? There is another good setup recommended ?

**I live in a country that Roland is so fucking expensive and this one used one is in a good price.

Thanks!

davor

I picked up a used TD9 for a good price a few years back (when I started learning), and it's been brilliant!

It has its drawbacks of course, but 90% of my practice and development has been done on it. If budget is an issue for you, you can't go wrong with the TD9.

I'm afraid I can't compare it to the Alesis you mention, and I don't play metal, so I'll leave it to others to chime in

Is it an option for you to try them out before making a decision?

Presumably the used TD9 is significantly cheaper?

Also, are all the drums mesh on the TD9? (I've seen some where only the snare is mesh and the others are rubber pads which you would want to upgrade to mesh later)

Also, which hi hat does it have?

Drealler

Thanks for your answer.

Is it an option for you to try them out before making a decision?
Yes but as a beginner I'm afraid to not have the ability to identify the best in all the technical aspects, but I can define the best timbre, rebound and things like that.

Presumably the used TD9 is significantly cheaper?
Yeah, its 50% of the Alesis price. My worry is about how old is the technology behind, the compatibility of the pieces and posible problems with the drum parts. I think this Roland model is 10 year age.

Also, are all the drums mesh on the TD9? (I've seen some where only the snare is mesh and the others are rubber pads which you would want to upgrade to mesh later)
Also, which hi hat does it have?
The kit is all as factory https://www.roland.com/br/products/td-9k2/

davor