Re-introducing myself - Hello from Boise, Idaho

flamateurhour

Hey ya'll!

Just made a new account because of some problems with the email address linked to my previous account (Flamateur_Hour).

I'm a drummer from Boise, Idaho. I'm 28, but have actually been with you lots ince I was about 13 or so, either as a lurker or under previous usernames. I've appreciated all of the advice (sound or not haha) that I've received over the years, and definitely owe it to you lot for both stoking my thirst for musical knowledge and also providing me a fantastic platform to help with everything drums, be it purchases, career moves, or just general music advice.

I've primarily been a rock n' roll drummer, influenced (via ya'lls direction) by holy circle of fantastic Brits as 80% of us (Bonham, Baker, Mitchell, Starr, etc...), the jazz artists that influenced them (Roach, Cobham, Elvin, Williams, etc...), and the studio giants that succeeded them (Porcaro, Gadd, JR, Blaine, etc...). The modern drummers that "have my heart" so to speak are usually individuals that are tapped into this same vein. In short, I like rock n' roll cats with studio precision and a certain cool vintage jazz or psychedelic rock aesthetic. Lately I've been on a big Jon Theodore kick because of his work on the first three Mars Volta records. Other than that, I seem to be into a different drummer every week (largely in part to Nick Ruffini's Drummer's Resource Podcast).

I currently play in a old-time rock n' roll group "Rider & Rolling Thunder", a 9-piece psychedelic chamber ensemble titled "Wend", and my main project, a 7-piece rock n' roll horn band named "Lounge on Fire".

Anyways, I just wanted to touch bass (heh) and re (re?) introduce myself. Hope you are all doing fantastic!!

Obligatory87010

Advinghelli

Idaho represent. I've been stationed at Mountain Home AFB for a year now. It's a great state. Any cool drum related places in Boise? I've been to guitar center and some pawn shops.

flamateurhour