Just resigned my position as an officer in a charity organization

A J

I'm a retired US Army Officer.

For the past two years I have served as in unpaid volunteer officer in a national charity organization. I worked hard, earned the trust of the upper management and quickly was invited into the "inner circle". Things were going great. They loved me and I was seeing great things being done. I became the "go to guy" and the "fixer". Then one day... I looked at the financials and started asking questions about a "scholarship program".

I soon discovered that the "scholarship program" was nothing more than a vehicle for laundering money into the pockets of friends and family of upper management. I emailed my evidence to all officers. I expressed my concerns to the higher headquarters people. In the end, they all defended the ruse and were content to keep things as is. The local officers immediately destroyed all paperwork relating to the scholarship program.

I was invited to a high level meeting where they tried to convince me that wrong was right. I argued my point, listened to their positions, politely excused myself and immediately resigned through a professionally worded email.

Why am I revealing this on a drum forum? Heck, I don't know! It's late. I'm ticked off and am just blowing off steam.

At this point, I have done everything a reasonable person would do and notified all higher echelons. I don't want to pursue it further. I quit. I'm done.

Blk Diamond

Good for you.

Your personal code of honor and ethics led you to do the right thing. You do not want to be a part of any charitable organization that siphons donations to some slush fund for the upper brass under the guise of a phony scholarship.

Hopefully, this could be brought to light in some manner (i.e. the press) that would lead to the ousting of the bad actors in the organization.