Even out both sides of the body

OldNoob

I'm a beginner. I have not formed deep set habits yet. I am right handed, I drum open-handed on a right-handed setup, that's what feels the most natural. In the beginning I tried to cross my hands to hit the hats with the right but it feels all wrong and difficult. Open-handed feels easy and my timekeeping is much better. Ride is on the left. No issues.
Now... my left hi hat foot sucks the worst of all five limbs. I assume it's because it gets used less, thus develops at a slower rate.
I thought of something to help develop it faster: configure the kit left handed, and put the left foot on BD duties for a while to develop strength and fine motor skills faster. I'd cross my hands to hit the hats and ride with my left...Has someone ever tried something like that?
I do enjoy the right handed configuration. This would just be a temporary measure to turbocharge left foot development.
Is this ridiculous? I don't have any ego tied to this idea and would rather see it shut down here than reconfig the kit for nothing! Thanks!

As a beginner, your concern should be developing a foundation of proper timekeeping, technique and musicality.

Can you easily play along to the music you like and does it sound good when recorded?

If the answer is not a definite “yes” then you are way too early in this journey to start messing with that kind of thing.

As Tommy Igoe says; “The drum kit is an asymmetrical instrument”. Concerns about evening out the limbs are largely manufactured. I can tell you that most of the greats could not play backwards. Why would they?

At 8 or so I first sat behind a kit and found it odd to hit the hihat across my body. I'm supposed to hit it like that because I'm right handed? Sounds like the 2nd choice solution to me.