20x20 bass drum?

Mli

Hey. I am an intermediate drummer looking In to bying my first acoustic drum kit. For now I will not use it in the studio or live, but hopefully use it at some gigs in the future. I came over a used Ludwig centennial drum kit for a very reasonable price. My only concern is that it has a 20x20 bass drum and I’m wondering if this is very unconvenient when I am not going to use it in the studio? I’ve heard that deeper bass drums might be a bit more «boomy» and not as punchy as for example a 20x16 kick. Also, does it have a different feel to it?

Hey. I am an intermediate drummer looking In to bying my first acoustic drum kit. For now I will not use it in the studio or live, but hopefully use it at some gigs in the future. I came over a used Ludwig centennial drum kit for a very reasonable price. My only concern is that it has a 20x20 bass drum and I’m wondering if this is very unconvenient when I am not going to use it in the studio? I’ve heard that deeper bass drums might be a bit more «boomy» and not as punchy as for example a 20x16 kick. Also, does it have a different feel to it?
It's much heavier and would be rather boomy.

A 20x20 bass drum will feel slightly different than a 20x16. The deeper the bass drum, the more effort is required to excite the front head.

I haven't played a 20x20 specifically, but I have played a 22x20 and to my surprise it played and sounded great. It kinda depends on your playing style and preferences.

If the Centennial is a good price, get it! Just make sure the 20x20 will fit in your car! :D

If there are any drum builders in your area, you could have it cut down. In all honesty, a 20x20 will sound okay. Not as good as a 14x20 or 16x20, but good enough. However it looks weird, and takes up much more space than a 20" bass drum should. If it's a good enough of a deal, I'd consider it, and would look into getting it cut down at some point. But if it's not a great deal, then I'd pass.