Search results

1. J

has anyone switched from matched grip to traditional grip after many years of playing?

I began by playing matched. I was in ock bands, couldn't read a note, etc. Then I studied with a teacher, who encouraged matched. But since I was going to learn to read, I might as well hold my sticks with Buddy Rich. That must be the grip. I continued with it until just a few years ago. Matched...
  2. J

Elvin Jones

I first saw him in '69, with his trio. I had no idea what the hell was going on. I was 16, didn't read music, and the music--and Elvin!--just baffled me. He broke a Gretsch bass drum pedal in half during the show. After the show, I asked him if I could have it. He nodded, but some other guy had...
  3. J

Thoughts on playing with a light touch

Good points made. But what about Art Blakey, Tony Williams, Philly Joe? They were heavy drummers who often experienced hostility in various musical settings. Club owners used to tell Miles to fire Philly Joe. Miles said, "I don't care if he has one-eye and red breath. I need that fire up there."...
  4. J

“Drive the beat!!”

Here's a tip that can help you when you're having an issue with a bassist. It takes courage to do it, but it almost always succeeds. I was playing a gig decades ago, with an electric bassist that kept rushing. I didn't go with him; I held him back, On the break, I asked him what the problem was...
  5. J

Dave Garibaldi

David Garibaldi is one of the greatest drummers in the world. I'm a 100 percent jazz drummer, but Garibaldi introduced time concepts in funk that expanded the funk playbook. On top of that is his control, and taste. yySee Tower in person and watch all the people who can't resist dancing. My...
  6. J

Playing jazz and rudiments