Search results

1. mrfingers

What if…rock guitars were replaced?

What if you could cover famous, heavy rock guitars with horns and pianos/organs? And I don’t mean “elevator” pop music. Would it be better or impossible, would it be labeled jazz😁?
  2. mrfingers

Hats-snare “swipe” anyone?

Today I accidentally discovered the HH to snare swipe/ ruff move. I don’t know what else to call this motion where you swipe your left stick across the hats to the snare, ending with a ruff. My HH are about 6” higher than my snare, hitting the hats with the left stick’s shoulder and down to the...
  3. mrfingers

Self-taught technique questions for instructors

What are the biggest or most common technique “problems” you’ve had to correct when teaching self-taught rock drummers? Does age make a difference, etc..?
  4. mrfingers

Muscle memory and brain cross-talk learning

So I come from trad grip playing and “gave it up” a couple of years ago to learn matched due to the carpal tunnel pain I developed while learning flams. I know it seemed strange at the time but the more I learned matched the better my left hand felt until finally the carpal tunnel pain went...
  5. mrfingers

A song for our times

Procol Harum nails today’s topic in 1977:
  6. mrfingers

Cowbell crazy mount

I couldn’t help myself- I wanted the cowbell sound but didn’t want to go the route of a separate pedal with low mount. So I came up with this idea using the hi hat stand which also allows sticking while playing:you could replace the cowbell with any other percussion accessories.
  7. mrfingers

Modified Sonor tom mount cymbal holder

Since playing one-up-one down and a X-hat I had space for one more cymbal but Sonor’s version of a holder on the tom mount ($59) just didn’t seem to be a good “fit.” So, I made my own version with a cut down, 3/4” D sweeper handle and a clamp. Check it out. It’s exactly what I need.
  8. mrfingers

Rock audition this Sunday afternoon!