Search results

1. L

Closest thing to a Ludwig Orchestra batter head

I recently bought a 1967 Ludwig Acrolite. It had around six or seven stick marks on the original Ludwig Orchestra batter head. The drum was virtually unused. I started playing it lately and I can't believe how good it sounds with this head. I have other Acrolites with Remo Ambassadors and they...
  2. L

Question about Ludwig snare wires

Can any of you Ludwig historians help me out with a question about snare wires on Ludwig snares? I'm trying to figure out what would be the original wires that came on the following drums: 1967 Acrolite 1966 Supraphonic 1971 Supraphonic 1980 Acrolite 1980 Supraphonic 1978 Acrolite Thanks in advance.
  3. L

Another Acrolite Thread?

Only to follow up on my "What I've learned since I started recording myself" thread. My three Acrolites record beautifully. I've got them tuned differently with different heads. My '67 is my favorite. It's cranked near Roundabout/Yes pitch. It was a closet queen and still has the original...
  4. L

Best way to keep tension rods tight

Most of my snare drums have the same problem. Where I hit the snare for rim shots the tension rod next to it gets loose, some quicker than others. What do you guys do to solve this problem? I know about tight screw rods but I've never used them. Thanks in advance for your help.
  5. L

Heavy rides anyone?

I just took a chance on a 70's Zildjian 20" heavy ride cymbal. It's 2689 grams and in perfect condition with a beautiful patina. Heavy rides seem to be out of fashion at the moment, hence the low price. I must say at first listen I'm very surprised at how great it sounds. It has a medium-low...
  6. L

Playing my 1967 Ludwig Acrolite