Search results

1. Ruok

Tiny Drums.

I don't know if this was posted before (I searched and found nothing), but I just love those black dot heads. :geek:
  2. Ruok

I'm just finding this out NOW?!!!!!

I'm basically a self taught drum hobbyist. My regular gig is at a church that I've been playing at since 2004. I got my first snare drum (a toy) at about 5 years old, back in 1970 or 71, and have been playing ever since. Not once have I ever come across this tip that I saw last week. It has to...
  3. Ruok

Testing a cymbal in person; Do you stick a finger in your ear?

In this picture from a 1979 Paiste catalog, the man in the red sweater appears to put his finger in his ear while testing the hi-hat at the Paiste factory. I think I heard someone tell me many moons ago that blocking one ear is a good way to test a cymbal because it supposedly gives a sound that...
  4. Ruok

Promark sticks - clickier than others?

Maybe it’s my imagination, but when I watch a drum video and I see the drummer using Promark sticks, the cymbals seems to have a more pleasant clicky type sound. Am I nuts, or is there something to this? I have bought only a couple of pairs of Promark sticks my entire life and they were oak...
  5. Ruok

Steel Drum Videos

Share any other videos you like please!
  6. Ruok

Steel Drum Videos (Double Posted this Thread- Please Delete -Thanks!)

Share any others you like please!
  7. Ruok

Anyone remember the triple tipped stick?

This has to be well over 30 years ago. I remember purchasing nylon tip sticks that had a curved and thin plastic cord that went through the wood that added another tip on each side of the regular tip like a trident. I think Regal Tip made these? I went looking online to see if I could find any...
  8. Ruok

3D Jazz Trio @ Memphis Drum Shop

After watching this, I couldn't help but think that many of us guys are far too serious. At least I know I can be. They look like they're having a blast from start to finish.
  9. Ruok