Search results

1. E

One up and One down trend ?

I think it WAS a trend, when a lot of popular music started utilizing smaller drum kits (again). Now, it's almost standard again. I think whether you consider it a trend depends on when you were coming up as a drummer. It felt like a trend to me too, because I started playing drums in the...
  2. E

Sonor SQ2 Shell thickness and Wood choice guide

That's the finish I have on mine. I'm surprised they replaced it with the wrap finish. Maybe the veneer was too expensive for them.
  3. E

Sonor SQ2 Shell thickness and Wood choice guide

Thanks for the info. I don't have an SQ2 kit, though I might someday. I have Sonor Vintage Series (9-ply 6mm beech), and SQ1 (7-ply 7mm / 10-ply 10mm BD birch) kits. Good to know how the different SQ2 shells compare to those. Looks like Vintage Series is the same thickness as SQ2 Medium, and...
  4. E

Drumless songs

The Vic Firth website has some good free drumless tracks, some with charts. I'd also highly recommend Jim Riley's book, Survival Guide for the Modern Drummer, which comes with well over 100 drumless tracks in all different styles.
  5. E

What is your workhorse snare from your collection?

For the last month, I've been using my Sonor SQ1 birch snare the most, but that's mainly because it's relatively new to me. I'd say the snare that gets the most use is my Yamaha RC aluminum 6.5x14. If that was my only snare, I'd be happy. TBH, I kind of like the idea of getting down to just 3...
  6. E

10 China Cymbals Compared - Which Is Best For You?

I thought the Istanbul Turk sounded great, and I liked the Xist as well. I've been a Zildjian guy for years, and while the 17" K in this comparison is not bad, I have yet to find a Zildjian china cymbal that I really like. For now, I've found a happy compromise with an 18" A Custom EFX cymbal...
  7. E

Paiste Giant Beat vs. 2002 vs. Big Beat Video