Search results

1. MazdaRex

Anton Fier (1956-2022)

Are drummers here familiar with Anton Fier, founder of The Golden Palominos? He apparently died in September of this year: https://www.nytimes.com/2022/10/07/arts/music/anton-fier-dead.html https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anton_Fier I'm very much a fan of "Blast of Silence" and a couple of their...
  2. MazdaRex

New-to-me cymbals! Hope I did well?

After several weeks of shopping, I got some cymbals to go with my Tama Imperial Star shell pack. MANY thanks to the people here and all the discussions I read on different cymbal tones, timbres, brilliance, and many other descriptors I am still learning! I'm near Denver, so ended up at the Lodo...
  3. MazdaRex

Beginner seeks kick drum 16ths tips

My lessons are going great and I'm learning tons. Working on a song with two sixteenths together on the kick drum at 100bpm, and I feel like my foot isn't fast enough. Obviously, drummers play one-foot sixteenths a whole lot faster, so what should I learn? It feels like both my foot isn't...
  4. MazdaRex

Alternatives to Fitbit Charge4?

I've had a Fitbit Charge4 for 2-3 years and it seems to have stopped syncing. If I have to replace it, what's better? Looking for info and suggestions, please. (US-based.) Mostly used for: Sleep tracking (Charge4 seemed consistent) Steps (Charge4 was awful - it counted hand waves, not steps...
  5. MazdaRex

Pearl EX vs Tama Imperial Star - incomplete kits

I'm a nine-month student drummer after thirty-years off and loving drumming, lessons, my teacher, and this forum. For set work, I play mostly 60s-70s-80s blues-based classic rock. (Aerosmith, J Geils Band, Kinks, Blondie, Van Halen, Led Zep if I can learn any of it, Bad Company, etc.) I have a...
  6. MazdaRex

Practice options for travel and hotels?