How to Practise Technique - Video Discussion

Jonathan Curtis

Silver Member
Hi all,

I just released this video discussing the concept of practising technique specifically:

As a younger drummer, I spent a of time trying to improve my technique, held under the (likely mistaken) belief that I would be a great musician solely in virtue of developing good technique.

These days, I focus primarily on application, and learn technique in a pragmatic way, as I learn how to apply the language I am working on.

This was prompted by discussions I had with students recently. One student in particular was very keen to improve his "snare chops", and wanted some particular exercises. In the lesson, I focused primarily on the interpretation of various accent patterns, applying various rudimental concepts to the same underlying accent pattern. He took to it really well, but still asked about exercises, and it to me thinking about their place in our practice sessions.

What do you think? Do you practise technique specifically? Do you teach your students raw technique, or do you go via the repertoire?

I'm really interested in people's thoughts on this. My thoughts are in the video, obviously.

Thanks,
Jonathan

After getting to the double stroke section, well, I do see where you're coming from and I think there's a kernel of truth to what you're saying, but I also fundamentally disagree. The extent of my disagreement depends on who this is aimed at. If it's aimed at beginners, then sure, the main goal there is to stop them from doing anything terribly wrong. If it's aimed at advanced players however, my disagreement is very strong. Also, is this aimed at concert snare or drumset? That also makes a difference. I'm going to assume it's aimed at both, but reply from a drumset perspective.