Is the James Gadson 16th note shuffle suitable for blues?

KJIB

As a beginner to jams (& clearly a novice on the drums still), I recently went to my 1st blues jam. They said they're beginner friendly. I mentioned that I'm a beginner and that I basically can only do simpler 4/4 or 12/8 or the most basic shuffle. On the 1st tune they went for the shuffle & the guy leading the jam stopped to ask me if I could do something "more shuffle like". I had been doing a back beat triplet based shuffle, (i.e. if the triplet is 1-an-a then I was doing 1- -a-2- -a-3- -a-4- -a- on the hi-hat with kick on 1 & 3 and snare on 2 & 4) which is, a shuffle from what I read. I said that this was it & that I'd only just learnt this one recently so they went with it.

Anyway, I way, I'd like to go back soon with something new in my toolkit so looked up some other shuffles. I realised that I could already do most of the James Gadson 16th note Shuffle so that might make a good one to nail down better. But I don't want to concentrate lots of practice time on that if it doesn't fit into a blue jam.

1669131002637.png

So, opinion; is the James Gadson 16th note Shuffle suitable for use in a blues jam?

"more shuffle like".
is usually some "triplet-skip" in the Ride hand
whether it be a Bernard Purdie babylon Sister/ Home At Last or an Art Blakey One By One

I play in a blues/rock band and I can't think of a song where I have used 16ths on the hats unless the song had a straight 1/8ths (rock) feel. So I would not expect that to be used on a shuffle song at a jam session where they play mostly standards.

What you played is a perfectly valid blues shuffle. That and a basic rock beat should get you through a beginner jam session just fine. Expand on it by leaving your hands alone and working on some bass drum variations. Start with 1 2 3 4. Then 1-a --- 3-a ---. Or 1-a --a 3-a --a. Then start experimenting with other variations.