Burying the Beater

Hannahsketchbook

I’m sure this has been discussed but I thought I’d ask anyways for maybe some more specifics.

So I’m a heal up kind of gal and tend to bury the beater. (About two months beginner here) I know this sound isn’t ideal for all music types, so I was trying to consciously avoid this but kept bouncing extra kicks in there. I try and keep my foot in the center and put my heal down after. The most natural feel to me is heal up. Any tips on not keeping it on the drum? I will most likely play a lot of a rock but I don’t want this to limit my sound for other types of music I like too so I want to be able to do both, but I am having more control issues when I don’t. Probably because I haven’t practiced much this way. Plus I like the more muted sound for evening practice so I’ve practiced more this way from day 1.

Sometimes unconsciously I don’t keep it on the drum but I want to be intentiona.

I feel like that was a lot of words.

Uhhh bury the beater and how not to? Could the extra notes be due to my pedal and any adjustments I should make?

Opinions, tips welcome! Thank you! Hope everyone is doing well!!

Last edited:
I'm thinking a little tighter spring might help. Knowing what pedal (did I miss that?) Might help as well. Practice will always help. I'm working on it as well.

Consider working toward the eventual heel toe technique. It might make you conscientious about not burying it because of how the process works. Heel up is power, which is why I started with it, i guess. I didn't know heel toe until i started back after 15 years out of play.

After paying attention to my play I still tend to bury the beater.

Well, pedal adjustments and foot technique are highly individual, like a lot of drumming, so ultimately you'll have to figure out what works for you.