What's a piece of drum gear that you like the IDEA of having it, but you have reservations or simply no use for it?

I like the idea of possessing at least one non-crash accent cymbal for use in songs that simply don't need a second crash. A bell, a splash, a china, an EFX, etc.

While I'm against the idea of having to buy them all, I've never seem to have the right one for any project I'm working on. This results on the predictably hilarious situation in which I have a bunch of odd cymbals I almost never use.

Almost any hand percussion. Congas, bongos, timbales, shakers, you name it. I have seldom been able to work that stuff into a practical playing situation with a drum set.

I do lots of recording and production work, so I overdub percussion a lot, which is where I mainly use them.

Also for musical gigs too.

A 24” bass drum. The place where my band rehearse has a battered old Tama Superstar kit which has one and it’s a beast. I would love one myself, just such fun to play and sit behind but I know I’d regret it the moment I need to move it. I google “gretsch add-on 24”prices nearly every night I get home after playing it.

Mine is the Sonor Artist Series Bronze Snare

It’s absolutely beautiful. And also cost as much as my Ludwig Classic Oak kit for just a snare.

I also want a Danny Carey sonor snare really bad but just can’t picture my self paying the price.

I have snares made of brass, maple, BNOB, copper and Aluminum. But bronze is one on my list

Last edited:
For me it's this Mike Mangini "Golden Ratio" 10x6.2" snare I found on Craigslist for a good price a few months ago. It sounds great and it looks great too...but will I ever truly use it?

I actually bought it with the intent to sell it on Reverb, but after playing it and seeing how well-built it is, I dunno what I'm gonna do with it. That's a good problem to have I guess?

4IM6dXa.jpeg