What are considered "cheap" cymbals?

Blimey. Some strong opinions about B8 being inferior here. What really matters isn't just the chemical makeup of the bronze but the way in which a cymbal is manufactured. If that was the case then all B20 cymbals would all be better than all B10 cymbals which would in turn be better than all B8 cymbals. All of which is predicated on a person's personal opinion of what "better" is, a Zildjian K and a Paiste Rude are very different cymbals that equally wouldn't work in certain settings but neither of which you can reasonably call a "bad" cymbal.
Paiste's mainstay for donkey's years has been their B8 alloy.
I've been gigging for many years with a set of Paiste Alpha Pro crash cymbals (now discontinued but "broadly similiar" to their current 900 series) a set of Paiste PST8 High Hats and an 80s/90s Meinl Raker Ride Cymbal, again B8 and made in an attempt to capture some of the Paiste Rude market.
I wouldn't for a second consider any of these cymbals to be "cheap" in quality terms, and personally I baulk at new cymbal prices that sit above £150. Paying top dollar for anything in life doesn't guarantee that it's the perfect choice for a person's particular situation.

Not particularly. Though I was quite surprised when I discovered their cymbals aren't B20.

I've played Zildjian for the vast majority of my drumming years (over three decades), but I did, for a time, switch to Paiste, eventually returning to Zildjian As and Ks. When Zildjian released the S Family (B12), I tried and loved them. The S Family is more similar to several Paiste lines than it is to other Zildjian offerings.

Last edited: