Start With A Snare?

I think starting with a kick, snare, and hi-hat is a good, balanced approach. 99% of what you do as a drummer can be covered with those 3.

After one year on a practice pad and another on a snare, I graduated to the setup you're suggesting. Though I had purchased a full kit, my instructor demanded that I place my toms in a closet and not touch them for six months. I worked on nothing but hi-hat/snare/bass patterns during that stretch, and it was excellent preparation for the full configuration that followed.

Wow, based upon the accounts I've illustrated in this thread, my first instructor might sound sadistic. He wasn't. He just had a system in place and refused to modify it. Decades later, the wisdom is clear to me.

I think starting with a kick, snare, and hi-hat is a good, balanced approach. 99% of what you do as a drummer can be covered with those 3.

By purchasing individually, did you find the method allowed for better quality drums? Also, as opposed to buying a kit, was it more expensive buying indvidually?

Can you make noise? Will your family and neighbors allow the noise? Because drums are loud, and it takes years to sound OK on drums.

You can start with drum sticks and use a magazine for a drum pad.

Last edited:
I started with a thrift store kit/pieces... a bass drum, 2 toms that don't match the bass drum or each other, a cheap snare, and an inexpensive basic hi hat stand. I added cheap hats and a snare stand from a pawn shop, and played that kit for a year or so in the garage, before I got a basic starter 5 piece set.
I also had a practice pad, and used that intermittently for rudiments and such.

Now, I have the 5 pc set, a "practice kit" that's bass/snare/hats/ride and a jingly thing :D , a few snare drums, and the practice pad (I really need a new one). I alternate between all, depending on time, others, and mood.

I can't say if this is right, or even good, but I play as often as possible, and I'm having fun.