Recent content by Captain Bash

1. Captain Bash

Bosphorus Hi Hats

The Bosphorus Groove hats (I own 14” and 15” versions) are great all round hats, they sit somewhere between bright n dark. The New Orleans series are definitely the quieter of the two series, they are pretty thin and very responsive, ideal for playing small pubs/clubs when you want to play...
  2. Captain Bash

Cracked Stave Shell

Hi Brady Drums, Thanks, I am not in the USA but the UK, I guess I could ship it over to the USA. Thanks for the advice.
  3. Captain Bash

PDP Concept Maple vs. DW Design Series

I have no experience of either brand/kit but one thing to consider is how the drums actually respond to your playing with your sticks. The direct comparison videos posted by stores like DCP are useful in this respect ( not sure they are PDP /DW dealers ) in that you can hear different drum...
  4. Captain Bash

Steel snare drum question

I am just going to say if we’re mentioning high end steel snares then the 90s king of them all is the Ayotte Keplinger. A stainless steel that cuts, has great sensitivity and unlike many steel snares has pleasing overtones.
  5. Captain Bash

What for?

Ohhhh it’s obvious, its one of those brand xyz snare toilet bags.Take on all the liquids you like and unload with confidence mid song. Actually sounds like the singer gargled with last nights snare bag. It’s good for the toady vocals.....
  6. Captain Bash

Cracked Stave Shell

7. Captain Bash

Cracked Stave Shell

Anyone have any experience in fixing a partially split mid stave shell. Bit distraught, decided to give my Brady Stave 14 x 7 snare (Jarrah) the once over, as I do every month or so and discovered a nasty crack emanating from snare side. Don’t get me wrong this isn’t a complaint about Brady...
  8. Captain Bash

I Followed Bo's Advice...

Not that I am single headed myself but.... one of my biggest drumming influences (Steve Jansen) could work a muffled concert tom set up to really say something