Insoluble muscle control problem in left foot/ankle

xymonthra

I have been playing drums since 7 years old, but only dedicated the last 15 - 17 years. Since 3.5 years back, I had a 1-On-1 whole day teaching lesson at Marthyn Jovanovic i Vienna to learn the ankle technique. The eternal issue now seems to be, that I never get control over my left foot over 200 bpm 16th. I really have to raise the foot a little more as my right foot to achive higher tempos. But when doing that, it just stops. It is like a broken electrical circuit. It acts as an electrical play, it twitches hysterically. I really focus on being relaxed in both feet and legs. I am sittng very comfortable, and I have really good and precise control in my right foot. But my left leg also seems to be a little heavier. I need to have a higher spring tension on my left pedal, otherwise I bury the beater into the bass drum. I am stronger in my left foot, but no control when I performing the relaxed ankle "bouncing-basket-ball" technique. I can easily perform bigger strokes, bigger beater dynamic, than in my right foot which is weaker, but it seems that my muscles are extremely different in my left foot. I have no injuries, just probably bad luck with very unruly muscles in my left calf muscle. Do you guys here have any serious suggestions for this issue? Shall I go for the heel toe instead? I am practicing 2 - 3 hours 5 times/week. I am using the Axis A shortboards.

Unusual problem, good question, best not to rely on internet advice. It’s more of a medical question in conjunction with a teacher versed in preventing problems.

If you're planning on doing blasts at 300bpm then I would persist with ankle technique as it seems to be the most energy efficient technique out there (but very hard to learn/ master from what I've read).

Anything under that however, heel toe will serve you just fine and it's a LOT easier to learn (plus there's a million Youtube vids out there to help you out with it).