Holy Grail of the Drum World?

River19

So, as a musician I watch, follow, read etc many musicians and always find classic gear discussions really interesting whether it is trying to find and buy classic Neve Consoles or the constant search for real '59 Les Pauls or '57 Fender Bass guitars........

So what is the drum equivalent? I know people seek out classic old Zildjian cymbals and people wax poetic for days about the Ludwig snares of the '60's but.......

Just curious......

Some people have a longing for these items...
Slingerland Radio Kings
Transistion badge Ludwig snare drums early 1960's
1970's Sonor Horst Link Signature drums
these are a few that come to mind

The only thing that comes to mind is the old Gretsch Jasper shells (maple/gum combo), and several of the others that have already been mentioned. However, so much of the old gear is primarily coveted by jazz cats, but there are exceptions.

One thing I love about vintage 3-ply kits is that you can get an old 3-ply kit in great shape for about the same price as a new set...especially when comparing how much old guitars sell for.

For me personally, as wrong as it sounds, I don't count mass produced drums as a Holy Grail...for myself personally. IMO the age of those drums are more responsible for the sound than the craftsmanship. I'm not stating this as fact, just how I feel about it. In my mind, a handmade drum that is/was loved, and was built with no compromises fits the bill more. Obviously, I am a big solid shell proponent so I'm very biased.

I do think it is personal in a way....

my "Holy Grail" drums tend to be more from the marching/military world. Old school rope tension drums; Civil War era stuff;

Gretsch 4 X 14 Max Roach/ Progressive Jazz snare drum
3 or 6p original condition
every USA Gretsch 14x18 bass drum ever
Old K Istanbul 22" 50s 60s cymbal