Technique priority

JJKK

I'm working on my left hand wrist currently. It needs to be more mobile so I can match the stick heights while doing fills and blast beats. I stretch before practice and work on bouncing the stick while doing a stone killer/blast beat endurance practice (Adding two bpm per session on blast beats).

I have to practice the free stroke "drop and catch" too. I'm basically a beginner at basic techniques. It's okay, I'm slowly progressing, but I get confused about what I'm actually supposed to be working on.

I think about playing metal music and start thinking that fingers are more important, THE priority in my playing. Maybe I'm overthinking things.

its a great idea to start working on wrists. You definitely are overstepping the boundaries of thinking haha. The bouncing the stick part is good for endurance exercises since it will teach you to play in a more relaxed manner. I think by free stroke u mean the pushpull? Well my advice is focus on a particular thing for now. There is no need for other techniques when you can try and master one. In your case since you already have got the hang of the wrist motion it would be better to try and utilize that. Also next time try not using rebound at all and practice on a pillow or bar stool. If you do feel like adding fingers , you can focus on that later and then u can add fingers with wrist motion which increases the chance of extra power and a better motion. Good Luck!!

I think about playing metal music and start thinking that fingers are more important, THE priority in my playing. Maybe I'm overthinking things.
Do you use a practice pad? You can sit on the couch and watch tv while bouncing the stick in your hand. Lots of us here do this as a viable way to mindlessly work on technique/speed/endurance/stickings without having to really think about it. If you have a pad, you can practice whenever and wherever you want.