Small quiet-ish home setup?

nupage

Hi,

I’m a somewhat experienced acoustic drummer, but with no background with electronic drums at all.

What I’m looking for is a minuscule setup, for home use including recording, using sticks mostly, also hihat and kick pedals. So far the Yamaha DTX-Multi 12 seems my best bet. I need the pedals to be fairly quiet - are there any that can be, but also play well?

Will be triggering samples on PC, sometimes iPad, never using inbuilt sounds.

So essentially, a multipad unit with good feel, nice and quiet hihat and kick options .. what would you recommend?

Oh, also wondering if kick pedals for electronic drums need an additional pad, to actually hit. I would prefer not, but if that’s the only way it can be done, so be it.

And I guess, bump? Sorry if that’s not okay to do..? And if my original post was somehow in the wrong, just let me know! I’ll fix it, remove it ... or whatever else I have to do. Thanks.

Or hey, if it’s because I’m ignorant about this stuff, well, yes I am. Never used any of that kind of gear, haven’t even considered it in years gone by.

Multi12 + KU100 beaterless [1] kick + HH65 hat controller.

[1] "...if kick pedals for electronic drums need an additional pad, to actually hit".... nope. i.e. you don't need to use an acoustic drum pedal to hit a pad. Use a beaterless kick, for example, the Yamaha KU100:

1626100851428.png

Or use an acoustic kick pedal and a Trigger Krigg - for example

Thanks so much for that! Very helpful post.

Think I’ll try to track down a Multi12, KU100 and HH65. Cheers!

Interesting thread - got me wondering about getting a beaterless kick for my Roland TD9 as my neighbour below complains about the tapping and I'm sure its the bass drum/ kick.

I see Roland have KT-9 (beaterless pedal) , does anyone know if its compatible with older brains/modules such as the TD9?