Seating in front of a kit for the 1st time (Alesis Nitro Mesh), total beginner question

Marc_P

Hello friends, so after waiting for many years I finally decided I'm going to learn drums and got my first kit, I went for the Alesis Nitro Mesh as it seems to have decent reviews for my budget

I just set it and powered it up, everything seems fine but I'm having some difficulty with the hi hat pedal (please bear in mind I'm sitting in front of Drums for the first time in my life) :

Basically I find it very difficult to consistently make a "crash" sound with it (I mean by pressing frankly and rapidly the pedal), it will work here and there but I can't have a proper sound every single time I'm pressing the pedal

Also each time I release the pedal it makes a quite loud sound when the pedal reaches its end resting position

Based on my description do you think there is anything wrong with it or it is just me not using it properly (which is a solid possibility) ?

You mean closing the hi hat or splashing it? I don't think cheaper kits have hi hat splashes. If you mean you can't get a sound when stepping on the pedal, then that's a problem. Try checking if the cable is fully connected, if not check if any of the connectors at the module is damaged. Or just return it and get a new kit. I still don't know what "crash sound" you are talking about, can you be more specific?

I don’t know much about ekits, but I can tell you that your fans are the ones in front of your drum set. You’re actually “behind” it. :)

You mean closing the hi hat or splashing it? I don't think cheaper kits have hi hat splashes. If you mean you can't get a sound when stepping on the pedal, then that's a problem. Try checking if the cable is fully connected, if not check if any of the connectors at the module is damaged. Or just return it and get a new kit. I still don't know what "crash sound" you are talking about, can you be more specific?