Drumming and martial arts

Probably a lot of ways to think about it.

They're both a journey and in the end I guess I approach them the same way and got rid of the "classical mess."

Not exactly martial arts, but in a fight you need to stay relaxed. If you tense up and waste all your energy right off the bat, the next few minutes are going to suck bad. No time-outs lol. When playing super fast genres like death metal you can’t exactly take a break in the middle of a set because you’re tired or your limbs can’t keep up. Your band mates want to do that crazy new song that tests your limits? Too bad, better find a way to conserve some energy. I know this doesn’t exactly apply to all genres and I guess it’s really more of an analogy than anything.

I would say the softer arts like tai chi that I studied for a few years, while having little to do with practical self-defence, impart a sense of mindfulness, flow, and mind/body connection which indirectly contributed to my drumming growth.

Activities like yoga and meditation further these qualities and are beneficial with how we approach the instrument.

I would say the softer arts like tai chi that I studied for a few years, while having little to do with practical self-defence....

Tai Chi is a deadly art when taught correctly. So are all the internal arts, but Tai Chi has been co-opted as a health improvement method separate from its martial roots. The guy who came up with it, Zhao Kuangyin, was the head of the Emperor’s bodyguard, a TREMENDOUS fighter, and founded the Song Dynasty in 960 AD. Nothing in the history of the art, prior to the late 1900s, implies that it was ever meant to be a gentle “moving yoga” for the elderly. *shrug*

So who are some modern MMA practitioners that use tai chi in the ring?