Best piece(s) of advice you've gotten from this forum?

PorkPieGuy

Platinum Member
I've gotten so much good advice from this forum, I thought it would be cool to share. Here are the two that stick with me:

1. I know I've said this so many times you're probably sick of it, but treating my drumming as if I'm an independent contractor as opposed to a band member has changed my life for the better.

2. Here's a good one when it comes to buying and selling: If you are having a hard time to get someone to take your money, it's time to walk away from the deal.

How about you? What's the best advice you've gotten from DW?

Hey PPG, could you explain #1 ? Thks

Happy to!

A band member's job (from my experience) can include any of the following:
  • Playing all gigs. Even if it's an acoustic gig, you should be there with hand drums or play with rods or something. If someone books your band for an acoustic show and the band doesn't tell you, then your feelings may get hurt.
  • Possibly using funds made from gigs to buy/replace PA gear.
  • Possibly using funds made from gigs to buy studio time/gear.
  • Possibly using funds made from gigs to buy merch.
  • Possibly using funds to rent studio space.
  • Has a voice in major band decisions.
  • Helps with bookings which involve dealing with countless emails and phone calls, pricing, travel/directions, and dealing with schedules of 3-4 other band members.
  • If all of the other band members want to play a couple of benefit concerts for no pay, you pretty much have to go along with it to be a team player (playing benefits isn't necessarily a bad thing; however, organizations take full advantage of bands who do so frequently).
  • In addition to drums, you may be responsible for handling the PA gear as well.
  • Other duties may include auditioning new members, firing members, developing set lists, dealing with wives/girlfriends of fellow band members, and a lot of other things.

As independent contractor: