Trying Evans UV2

Mastiff

My hydraulics were trashed so I'm trying some Evans UV2, mostly just because I was curious. I'm sure my ear is out of calibration from the hydraulics, but these things seem to be resonating like crazy. They actually sound just like timpani to me, even the tuning between the low rack tom and floor tom has the same interval. My moongel is gooey and gross, so I ordered some drumtacs, but any other suggestions for taming these? I'm a novice tuner and just tuned them by making the pitch near each lug sound similar, and I have the reso head tuned lower than batter. The review I saw for the UV2 made it seem like damping like moongel shouldn't be needed...

Tune it very low, JAW +10%

To be fair, if you've been using hydraulics then virtually any other drum head will resonate significantly more. Hydraulics are extremely dead at any tuning, you'll probably get a better sound if you back the UV2's off a bit although they'll never sound like hydraulics. As you kind of alluded to you may just have to adjust your hearing to a more 'normal' sounding drumhead.

Mark

I was out of town this week. Last night I played with tuning the heads down, and to my ear they are booming more than ever. The drumtacs are powerless to tame them, at least to my ear. I'm not trying to make them dead like the hydraulics, but I want to be able to hear my bass drum when doing tom/bass combo fills, for example. I'm going to experiment more with the reso head tuning today, which is still quite low. They might be reinforcing themselves at the moment with similar tuning.

Just wanted to update the thread to say that tightening up the reso on these made a huge difference. I forget where I got the advice to tune the reso lower, but that was really the wrong approach with these. The floor tom sustains for a bit longer than I'd prefer still, but it was problematic even with the hydraulics. Might just be a cheap drum thing. Low batter, high reso, and drumtac on each batter.