Mike Portnoy
April 20, 1967

Mike Portnoy
Mike Portnoy is one of the founding members of Dream Theater with whom he was with for 25 years.

He is currently the drummer in The Winery Dogs, Transatlantic & Flying Colors and has also recorded &/or toured/performed live with Avenged Sevenfold, Neal Morse, Adrenaline Mob, PSMS, Liquid Tension Experiment, OSI, Bigelf, Hail!, Stone Sour, Fates Warning, Overkill, G3 and his 4 tribute bands with Paul Gilbert: Yellow Matter Custard, Hammer Of The Gods, Amazing Journey and Cygnus & The Sea Monsters.

Mike was born on April 20th 1967 in Long Beach, Long Island, New York.

He grew up learning to play the drums primarily self-taught by listening to his early biggest influences: Ringo Starr, Keith Moon and John Bonham. As he developed a taste for more challenging progressive music, his biggest influences were Neil Peart and Frank Zappa.

He attended the Berklee College Of Music on a scholarship in 1985 which is where he formed the band Dream Theater with whom he sustained a successful career for 25 years, developing a tremendously devoted fan base and record sales of almost 10 million copies worldwide.

Mike's long list of Awards include 29 Modern Drummer Magazine Reader's Poll Awards including Hall of Fame Inductee in 2004, MVP of the Year in 2010 & 2013, Best Progressive Rock Drummer (for the magazine's record of 13 times), Best Clinician (twice), Best Educational Video/DVD for Liquid Drum Theater, and Best Recorded Performance of the Year (8 times) for Dream Theater's Awake, A Change of Seasons, Falling Into Infinity, Scenes From A Memory, Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence, Score, Avenged Sevenfold's Nightmare and The Winery Dogs debut.

He also holds the distinction being the 2nd youngest drummer ever inducted into the Modern Drummer Hall of Fame (while at age 37) and is currently the youngest in the Hall of Fame.

He also is the recipient of 12 Drum! Magazine Drummie Awards including "Drummer Of The Year" two years in a row in 2011 & 2012 and was awarded Revolver's Golden God Award in 2011 for Drummer Of The Year.

© Nino Lo Guidice

Flying Colors

Adrenaline Mob
Mike Portnoy - Russell Allen - John Moyer - Mike Orlando

All Mike Portnoy Videos are

© concertimagery.com

Mike Portnoy
Author Of Confusion

All Mike Portnoy Videos are

Jojo Mayer - Terreon Gully - Tomas Haake - Mike Portnoy - Daniel Adair

Mike Portnoy
Drum Solo

All Mike Portnoy Videos are

© T. Bruce Wittet

© Heinz Kronberger

Mike Portnoy
Never Enough

All Mike Portnoy Videos are

© T. Bruce Witte

Rob Wallis - Mike Portnoy - Paul Siegel

thanks for your visit!

235'000 subscribers