Ear-piercing snare!

legobeast

Ear-piercing snare!

Hi guys,
I've been learning the drums for a couple of years now, using a Traps E450 electronic kit. That's great fun, but no surprise, the urge to get a 'real' drum or drum set has been growing. A few weeks ago I bought a Tama Metalworks 14 x 5.5 steel snare. Of course, it's great to play - only one problem. Even pretty light strokes on the centre of the batter head produce an ear-piercing crack! Now, I know that the small room environment in which I practise will exaggerate this effect, and I probably need to develop more finesse, after getting used to bouncy mesh heads of the E-kit. However, I am wondering if a different batter head might help to reduce the volume a bit.

The drum comes with an Evans Powercenter Reverse Dot head.

So, my question is, are there alternative batter heads that would help to reduce the volume, or are there other techniques that could do the same thing?

Appreciate any advice a lot. Thanks

If you want to reduce the volume try hitting not as hard. Seriously, it's called dynamics. The drum will only be as loud as you hit it. To me it is that simple.

Thanks for the hints,

The snare has a damping ring which pretty much takes care of the ring - the issue is just the basic volume.

I need to get used to the transition between the mesh heads of the E-kit (which are pretty unresponsive to dynamics) and the real snare.

That said, it would still be good to hear something about heads, if anyone out there has some knowledge. My impression was that some heads promote volume, others less so. Is this not true?

Cheers guys

I have the exact same snare and it sounds so good for its price. I agree is loud if you give it a whack but again its technique. I believe there are some jazz drummers who play with metal snares. Its the way to hit not material.