Frustrated with my playing.

AgainstTheGrain

Hey everyone!
I've been playing on and off since 12 years of age. (The last two years have only been serious, I'm 17 y/o.)
I'm VERY frustrated with my playing at the moment. I play metal / rock, but I'm at this point where I just don't know where to go with my playing. Lessons are not an option at the moment, and the only thing I can bring myself to practice nowadays are blastbeats and double bass stuff. I want to get into Jazz - I have the basics down, but that's pretty much it.
I bought a book called ''The Art of Modern Jazz Drumming'' by Charlie Perry, but I don't know how to approach the exercises in a practical way. Every time I sit at my kit I find myself screwing around and never getting any focused practice time in. I just feel like my playing isn't going in any direction! Help!

Since it seems to be a matter of self-control, it's up to you to solve the problem. Just commit yourself to it, and don't let your mind wander off too much while trying to do what the book is teaching you. Hope that helps a bit.

Also, if you want to add some meaning to your playing, start learning rudiments. I just started and its fun, I already started incorporating my doubles and diddles in ways i never thought i would.

It seems u lack motivation because u said when u sit at the kit you will just wander off. Is Jazz really for you or do you just want to play it because people say its great for drumming techniques and dynamics. Without motivation you cant really go far.

Look up some great Jazz songs that inspire you then u can feel the motivation to want to play that

It seems u lack motivation because u said when u sit at the kit you will just wander off. Is Jazz really for you or do you just want to play it because people say its great for drumming techniques and dynamics. Without motivation you cant really go far.

Look up some great Jazz songs that inspire you then u can feel the motivation to want to play that