Drum Evaluation

Herzeleid

Hey guys, I have a video of me playing, and seeking evaluation. I have been playing for only 7-8 months on drums and really start practicing about 3 months ago and I need a heads up on whats good and what I need to work on. Thanks! I did have a drum teacher but was taken off due to the expenses

http://oy4.net/video/drums.mp4
I noticed that I was hitting a little bit hard than usual...
Don't mind my timing its all over the place in this and its sad because I stopped here and there.

Thanks!

I'm not sure what you are looking for in terms of an evaluation, but I think you already brought up some points:

You were playing pretty hard (and stiff), and you were drifting in and out of time.

I think you're off to a great start, with these basic rock beats, just keep playing these beats to get a sense of timing. Try to loosen up your grip, and your arms to give yourself a little more fluidity. Once you're relaxed and more comfortable, you'll be able to play with dynamics and syncopation.

If lessons aren't realistic at this time, try checking out a book that can give you some ideas of what to practice.

I like the Ted Reed book: Syncopation for the Modern Drummer. There are plenty of threads here on people's favorite books... take a look!

Yeah, it looks like you are off to a great start.
I didn't hear any rudiments or anything except a single stroke roll, a few flams/drags and maybe a six stroke roll at the very beginning. Maybe work on incorporating doubles, paradiddles into your grooves and phrasing.

As far as time is concerned, of course a lot of that comes with practice and developing "clean" hands and feet. Including loosening up your grip as tcspears said, and playing off the surfaces more.

Nice fire extinguisher collection, btw.:D

Yeah, it looks like you are off to a great start.