Need some encouragement

synergy

Hey fellow DW folks,

I need some encouragement to help me see the light at the very long tunnel!!! haha

Basically I am self taught for about 2 years and have now gone back and found myself a teacher and I am begining to really put effort into learning my rudiments and all the other stuff I passed over.

Here is my problem, I look through my rudiment book and I see things like 3-stroke double roll ruff and ratimacue.

I cant even say them let alone play them!!!!

I have been looking at all the videos on the site and although they want me to get better- I still have no idea what some of them are doing in the videos- they are just too far above my ability at the moment.

I just wanted to ask all you guys out there that can do all these things in your sleep that there was once a time where you sat around and couldnt pull a single roll from a paradiddle and even AC/DC was a struggle to learn!!!!!!

I just want some hope that I will come out the other side and look back and wonder why I was struggling so much with the 'easy' stuff!

I really wish there was something really encouraging advice I can give to you, but here's about the best I can offer. Stick with it ("stick", get it...lol).

Seriously dude, you sound very passionate about playing drums and that's what's going to get you through this. I'm sure it can get very discouraging looking through drum books and stuff.

It's good that you've got a teacher to help you as well. I also encourage you to spend some time here on drummerworld as well. I'm 30 years old and I still come on here to find interesting things; I'm still learning!

Just hang in there man, we're all here if you ever need to talk. Best of luck!

You say you have a teacher, so pick his brain that's what he's there for. Write down your questions as your practicing and ask him during or after your lesson. Again that's what he's there for. Don't be afraid to ask, you will never learn otherwise.
trial and error.