I can't play and count out loud.oh!

paleto

Am I the only one to find this a nightmare? the voice becomes an extra limb that has to be coordinated.after 25 years playing...can it be learnt?

I've been a guitarist for 21 yrs and I'm into drumming for 15 months now. I tried counting out loud just a few times, I also feel it's hard. Usually I'm just not counting but trying to play as precisely as possible. Do we need to count in the first place? It's a great plus to be able to do so, but is it a must? Hopefully not ;-)

That's a very common problem, and it's exactly for the reason you state: The voice is like a fifth limb which needs to be coordinated.

It won't take you that long to work out though. Just practice it slow and build it up, and you'll have it in no time at all. As far as limbs go, the voice is easily the simplest to work into your coordination :)

saying it or singing it gets you closer to playing it, if you cant hear what you are trying to do, how is the brain supposed to make the limbs make the sound? Been years since i had my copy, but doesn't the New Breed book instruct you to sing the lines first before trying to execute them? And yes it is hard, slow down and persevere it, nothing comes without some dedicated time, well for most of us mortals anyhow.

saying it or singing it gets you closer to playing it, if you cant hear what you are trying to do, how is the brain supposed to make the limbs make the sound? Been years since i had my copy, but doesn't the New Breed book instruct you to sing the lines first before trying to execute them? And yes it is hard, slow down and persevere it, nothing comes without some dedicated time, well for most of us mortals anyhow.

Sing, not count!

/20chqr