After a new set of drums. What gives the best bang for your buck?

I'm an intermediate player and have been playing on a lifeless no-name kit for 4 years. I've pretty much got it to sound the best it's ever going to sound through changing of heads and tuning the hell out of it etc... but I've hit a wall. It's not going to get much better and my ears aren't liking what they're hearing anymore. I want something better.

So, what's a brand or certain model to be looking out for? I'm going to try and buy 2nd hand as I'm a student and ain't got too many pennies to be blowing on brand new hardware.

I don't necessarily need a snare drum though no biggie if I can get one. Always better to have more right :p, and definitely don't need cymbals

Any advice?

Cheers ^-^

Buy used, a deffinite. I'd suggest a kit that is easy to add onto. You don't need a 6 piece kit, right off the bat. Take the snare out of the equation, you can find a pro-level 3 of 4 piece kit for under $1K. I've seen Yamaha Recording Customs, Maple Customs, and Oak all sell for under $1K. DW, used Ludwig Classics, Gretsch, Tama, Pearl, Mapex, etc. Watch eBay. Keep an eye out on Craigs List.

Maybe a step down from such high end kits. I'm not gigging or anything, I just need something to practice on and occassionally record for demos.

Also, I'm from the UK and Craig's list is pretty much a non entity here. Are there any alternatives?

Unfortunately this might be a bit of a biased post, but a small size Mapex Saturn kit gives you incredible value and sound for your dollar. Just a thought, and obviously I speak from experience. Especially if you can get one used.

Budget is anywhere between £300 and £800. Hardware as in cymbal mounts, pedals, etc.? Not really. I have amounted those over the years :p

So you need only the bass and toms, and maybe a snare??
I would try to get a (used) Gretsch Catalina Maple.
It's a great set, and not very expensive.

Bram