Recording Custom 14 x 8 Snare Drum

sdrum177

Hey everyone
Need some information please. I have an opportunity to pick up a 14X8 recording custom 9000 snare drum with a pretty good price
Basically I am new to Yamaha drums. But off curse I am familiar with R.C. reputation and what is attracting me here is the 14X8 size
Can you please share your thoughts on this snare and may be if you have a link to its specification. I noticed that it has some different snare release handle and some metal bridge underneath... can it cause some problems with placing it on a stand? Also, do you know how tick is the wood shell?

Thanks a lot in advance, here some pics of it (not mine yet... :) )

Attachments

• IMG_18697110418511.jpeg
    IMG_18697110418511.jpeg
    28.8 KB · Views: 2,364
  • IMG_18709348434600.jpeg
    IMG_18709348434600.jpeg
    24.4 KB · Views: 3,523
  • IMG_18701695470430-1.jpeg
    IMG_18701695470430-1.jpeg
    66 KB · Views: 2,729
Re: Yamaha Recording Custom 14X8 Snare drum

Repeat this over and over....google is my friend,google is my friend.....

Your snare is 8 plys of 100% BIRCH,not maple(I say this because of the fixation of some younger players ,falsly believing if it ain't maple,then it's no good),and it also has no snare beds,hence the extended snare wires.No catalog I have has the shell thickness,but if you simply take the heads off,you can measure it for yourself.

If by the snare release handle,you mean the strainer/throw off,,yes it's different on that model from other Yamaha snares.Your drum looks late 80's vintage,and is an excellent snare,similar to the Tama Superstar,Grandstar,artstar of similar vintage,which came with diecast hoops.

Steve B

Last edited: