Does your inner metronome ruin your appreciation of music?

lowdowner

Recently I've noticed two changes in my head - both since I've started to get better at 'hearing' that inner metronome that drummers seem to develop after a while learning.

The first is that I can sense the beat in the music without counting out loud - there's something weird in my head that anticipates the next beat, or the beginning of a new bar almost subconciously. It's weird, but it's really connecting with the music in a way that never happened before I started learning to play drums.

The second is that I've started noticing that some recorded music - live or studio - isn't always quite 'in time'. In some more extreme cases, and with music I've listened to for years and enjoyed, I've started to get irritated or put off by the lack of decent timing within the band and especially the vocals which are just out of time :(

I know that some - great - musicians can pull and push the pulse and I'm not referring to that. I love some players and singers and the way they can build anticipation or give the impression of laziness or cool. It's more straighforward rock tracks that are just 'off'.

So, is this is drummers' curse? Does it pass and will I relax and just enjoy the tracks timing warts and all? Or am I just getting more discerning.

What's your experience?

I have the opposite problem. I'm really sensitive to "perfect" machine time where a click is used, and it almost always sounds lifeless to me. I would much rather, and usually do listen to live stuff and recordings that are more worried about an amazing feel than perfect metronomic time.

What's an example of something that bothered you?

Can you give us an example? Perhaps it's just me, but most of the most of the music I listen to tends to be wonderfully in time, which brings the questionably timed stuff (Mangini...) to my attention even more. But, I can't say I've heard many pieces recorded with that bad timing.