What Is So Bad About PDP?

joshthedrumkid97

Ive seen a lot of threads with comments saying that PDP has a bad reputation among drummers and a lot of people saying they hate PDP. Why?

I have little experience with PDP, but they offer cheap, good looking drums.
I was recently in the market for a snare with wood hoops and checked out all the snares on youtube. The PDP snare had the nicest sound and I ordered one. It also happened to be one of the cheapest.

Haven't seen any PDP hate on here. I know their hardware had a bit of a bad reputation a few years back, but I haven't heard much of that lately so they might have fixed those issues.

The problem is nowhere near what it once was but there were reports (including from me) of very badly made shells a few years ago. This includes basic manufacturing faults like ply separation, poor bearing edges and badly applied wraps. The hardware is/was also an issue.

The first 5 years or so were pretty tough for them and they had a lot of bugs to iron out. They were little more than cheapo Asian generics with DW Workshop lugs on them when they first hit the streets.

By 2006 or 2007 they had improved by leaps and bounds, and now they are better than they've ever been as far as quality goes. One big drawback is that they are limited to fewer sizes than most other drums in that price range; they don't make 13" or 18" toms, and you only get a 22" bass drum these days.

No hate, but after trying a few, it seems you can get twice the drums for half the price from many other companies.