Foot Pedal :: Too Painful

Kappy

Hey, everyone! I have a quick question:

I've got a Tama kit and when I play my foot tends to get serious pain in the tibia's ankle joint area after 5min straight playing and I cannot figure out what it is.

Is it the angle of the pedal? Seat posture? Foot posture? Don't know!

I've been drumming for three months and just really got to the point that I'm starting songs which require more endurance which is probably why I am feeling pain in the past week or two.

Any help would be ace. :)

Let me open my x-ray app and take a look. Injuries are not to be fooled with. Rest or see a doctor

Let me open my x-ray app and take a look. Injuries are not to be fooled with. Rest or see a doctor

I just started this week with actual songs which requires more than the regular minute or two slow practice which is why I think it may be more of a peddle angle or stamina issue. My foot's fine when I'm not drumming and I often walk around so I think I'd notice if something was super amiss!

Try playing heel up and don't move your ankle so much? My hole leg is involved in my kick stroke usually, and the ankle has never been a stress-point.

Find a teacher to show you how to play properly---if you expect to be a drummer in 3 months you are obviously expecting way too much---I have been playing guitar for 35 years, and drums for about 3---get over your ego, and take some lessons!!!!!!

Try playing heel up and don't move your ankle so much? My hole leg is involved in my kick stroke usually, and the ankle has never been a stress-point.

Ok, I looked up some vids to see what you're talking about and will ask my teacher about them when I have my next lesson so he can coach me through it in person. Thanks for the advice!

Normally my foot's not gotten tired so this could be new to me having to practice longer due to lessons becoming more intense.