Entry Level Jazz

TColumbia37

Silver Member
I do apologize if this thread already exists somewhere on here.

So, I've recently started working on a jazz inspired project with a few friends. We've jammed three times now, and things are coming together really well. We plan to continue this project and find more members. I am at a disadvantage, however. While the other three current members are fairly fluent in jazz and have been playing it for some time, I am pretty new to it, and have only been studying it for the past couple of months. My instructor and I have been going over different exercises and principles, but I've found what works the best for me is to really listen to and absorb the feel of the music. The playing seems to come naturally that way.

So what I want to ask, is if anybody can recommend some 'entry level' jazz tunes for me to throw together a playlist of; stuff with fairly clear and simple heads, and more basic comping. I've been looking and listening to a lot of jazz, but there's just so much out there, it gets overwhelming.

Thanks for any help, guys.

pick up

Miles Davis - Kind of Blue
Art Blakey - Moanin

great place to start

play along with those and you will learn a ton about forms and melody .... the two keys to playing jazz music .... and also the vocabulary that is necessary for jazz conversation

and most of all have fun

Last edited:
I'm really glad somebody has asked this - and that somebody has replied! Jazz has been tempting and tantalising me for a while now but I just haven't known where to start. Now I do - thank you!

Thanks for the references.
Can't hurt to get at least started in that direction.