When a student gets too good too quickly

Sondy Pasteurisen

Hi everyone,

I've been teaching this guy (16 years old) for about a year now (I'm a drum teacher from the north of England) and he came to me as a precocious metal-head - you know the sort: likes Portnoy and Peart and massive drum set-ups and ridiculous time signature poly-mash-ups.

I've steadily got him through most of his grades and he's now getting to the stage where his technique is utterly phenomenal and beginning to make me sweat a little.

The thing is, he can do all this stuff, but what he lacks is experience and groove - and subtlety. I've talked to him about this but he's more interested in 'brain-mangling groove of the week' (eventually you can only concoct so many, and it's only a facet of what drumming is about). He just can't lay it down.To him, it is boring. He can do it well enough, so why practise the money beat? In addition, he refuses to consider other genres outside of metal, expect perhaps funk and a small dash of fusion. His rudiments are good, his reading satisfactory and his musical brain precocious.

I'm at a loss of a continuing process for him.

Has anyone out there had this issue with a student and do you have any advice?

Thanks in advance...

A quick amendment: In the UK there are a few 'Grading' systems that a student can go through, usually Grades 1 - 8 which give them a fairly solid range of skills to build on. The two main ones are Rockschool and Trinity Guildhall (TG). TG is definitely the harder and more comprehensive, but most students go for the more populist and easier Rockschool.