6 years of playing - have i lost my way?

JT1

Silver Member
Hi everyone i've been playing drums for about 6 years now and i feel like i've hit a bench and i don't even think i'm very good, a lot of people say i am the best in the area but i honestly don't think i'm that good. I play decently in a band however when i'm jamming at home i really think my playing sucks and i'm so impatient that i can't be bothered to learn anything new like rudiments and things. It's frustrating. I guess what i want to ask people is, are you good in a band but not particularly good playing on your own? Are you good playing along to music but not so good just jamming to yourself? I feel after 6 years i should be a lot better and it's getting me down. It would be nice to know if someone feels the same way.

Well I think, the longer you have been playing drums, the harder it is to get better. I mean, its like, in your first week you can start playing some cool rock beats. But as you keep goin, the progress seems way slower. You just gotta keep goin, and know that you are getting better. Hope that helps and pardon ma english

Hi everyone i've been playing drums for about 6 years now and i feel like i've hit a bench and i don't even think i'm very good, a lot of people say i am the best in the area but i honestly don't think i'm that good. I play decently in a band however when i'm jamming at home i really think my playing sucks and i'm so impatient that i can't be bothered to learn anything new like rudiments and things. It's frustrating. I guess what i want to ask people is, are you good in a band but not particularly good playing on your own? Are you good playing along to music but not so good just jamming to yourself? I feel after 6 years i should be a lot better and it's getting me down. It would be nice to know if someone feels the same way.

Well, I think you just need a Holiday or we say, Vacation for a week or two away
from the drum set!