Switching from Yamaha to Mapex!

SimSalaBim

Hi

I know it all comes down to personal preference and all but I think I need some change and want to switch from Yamaha Maple Custom Absolutes to Mapex either Orion or Saturn. Is the change worth it cause I don't wanna regret the decision?

Well, I'm no expert, but if you are going to get a Saturn now is the time. All of the old ones seem to be selling off really cheap. Go to any Mapex dealer online and you will see what I mean. I guess they are getting rid of them and replacing them with the new Saturns, which people don't seem to like as much as the old ones.

What is the reason that you want to switch? You're right sometimes decisions like these can be very personal, but for me I wouldn't take the step backwards.

Dennis

I would advise you to go slow, unless you are convinced the sound you like can be found with the new drums.
I believe the Orions features primarily upgraded finishes, as opposed to a significant difference in either wood or construction quality.
The Saturns have Walnut, which is definitely a different sound.
I have owned the Birch Custom absolutes, and they were the easiest drums to tune I have owned, and sounded great in any venue.
I have also owned the Saturns, which are also great drums, with a unique sound. My concern is that you might sell a really excellent quality kit, then realize it was really an excellent quality kit which is hard to replace.Yamaha quality control is second to none, especially in their premium lines.
Don't know what your finances are like, but you might buy the Mapex, then decide which one to keep...

Not to confuse matters, but the bubinga Tama and Sonor ascent kits are also a consideration...

Also consider that Mapex resale on the used market is the pits. Yamaha by contrast has fairly decent resale. I would hang on to the Yammies and look at adding a Saturn when funds allow.