Hitting yourself when your playing

metal overlord

Gold Member
I hit myself with my sticks when I'm playing. And I finally realised I should probably try to find out how to stop this.

But, anyway, How can I stop this? I'm quite cramped behind my kit, and my hi hat is very far away. So it seems I hit myself alot when I hit my snare.

Is it bad technique? Or another reason?
And how can I stop this?

Last edited:
I'm no pro (or even an instructor), but I would say that you could probably work on stick control techniques. If you're hitting yourself and loosing the sticks, my guess is your technique is very sloppy.

See, I can't move. My snare is higher up because im tall, but when it's too low its uncomfortable. So I do a really wierd looking crossover because my arms can't move anywhere and neither can I. I loose sticks alot (I think) because I have a loose grip.

But, my hi hat is like 2 1/2 feet away from me, because I have arack there and the second bass drum gets in the way. Should I move it to like...where a crash cymbal is like Chris Slade does? That seems it would work, but it'd be hard because I litterally have no room whatsoever. Plus I'de have to attach it to the rack, and get the cord to have the pedal right by my foot.

Get rid of the second bassdrum, even if that means being less metal.

Or you might consider getting one of those hihat clamps to fasten your stand to the bassdrum, with the legs closed.

Or you might consider getting one of those hihat clamps to fasten your stand to the bassdrum, with the legs closed.

This is only when I'm not gigging though, normally I have no problem during live shows. My practice room is tiny and im on a wall. I've tried the getting rid of the second bass drum, but I can't. I'm fine with double pedals, but its just that I love my double bass.

And, the clamp with the hi hat idea is a good one. It feels more confortable that way.

sounds like you might have to either
a) Lose some gear so you get certain drums closer