Low Serial # Vintage DW Kit - Pic's Inside

Jeremy6002

Low Serial # Vintage DW Kit - Pic's Inside Drum Workshop (FOR SALE!!!!)

Here is some photo's of my Drum Workshop lacquer Kit..

Now For Sale on Ebay -

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=260721077435

I am wondering if anyone that is a DW expert could help me with any info about how old this kit is and what it might be worth in today's market; as I am considering putting it up for sale.

Christmas2010087.jpg
Christmas2010088.jpg
Christmas2010091.jpg
Christmas2010083.jpg

Thank so much for all of the info you can share with me..

Peace
Jeremy

Last edited:
While I'm no expert I have followed DW since the early 90s. Your kit should have a date stamped in small print on the interior of the shells. By the looks of the kit and it's hardware/features you have an early 90s DW made with Keller drum shells. The use of those style TB-12 brackets and the 4lug 8" tom tell me that it could be approx 1992-93. Another tip would be to count the number of plies in the shell. Before going to the 5+3 shells DW was using a 6+3 shell for it's toms up to 16" and 8+3 for 18" and larger.
Long story short, it's a lacquer kit in great shape for it's age. I would say you might fetch $2k-2500 for everything pictured. All what the market will bear. Selling points would be the finish condition and color, plus the number of sizes should offer different set-ups for different tastes. Nice kit!

thanks for the great info!!

here is a shoot of the inside.. maybe this will help in estimating the date of them

A guy I know told me he thought they were made in 1989, but I do not know how to verify that

Serial # = 2154

DW1.jpg

Thanks again for your help
-Jeremy

Last edited:
I believe if you email DW with the serial number they can tell you when it was made. I have not done so but I know others who have. It's worth a shot. And yes, very nice kit. You just can't go wrong with black IMHO.