Heel down control is rough!!!

Drumyourfaceoff

With the aid of my drum instructor I am really digging into Jim Chapin’s "Advanced Techniques for the Modern Drummer." I just came home from the studio frustrated beyond belief because I am trying to gain better control over my right foot playing heel-down. It’s rough! I am hashing out the section where the rhythm (kick or snare) is playing straight sixteenth note combinations over the ride ostinato instead of being "swung...." Ring any bells to ANYone on here? I am having such a hard time gaining control over my feet heel-down. I know the answer will always be "start slow and eventually it will come," but... Man... It’s hard.

I have been playing about 13 years and I actually know my way around a drum kit really well. I have been on full U.S. tours with rock bands and I have a lot of experience... But my real interest now is jazz. So... Any advice on hashing out heel down techniques would be appreciated. ANY advice for Chapin’s book would be appreciated as well....

Yes that book certainly is a challenge! I know its cliche but the only advice i could give is to really slow it down and practice a lot,to get it into your muscle memory. I struggled alot with it too but youll find one day it just clicks. Although ive still a long way to go in this book :p

I went with a teacher who believed that anything after the triplet/8th's exercises were purely 'co-ordination exercises' and not really musical statements or even necessary.

Needless to say I never worked beyond that point. I'm kind of considering going back to it now, but still not sure what it holds for me.

Nevertheless, look at the way the exercises are written on the right side of the page, and try and phrase more like that if it helps? As I recall the lines are written out together.

In regards to heel down, maybe check out Steve Smith's History of US Beat, he goes over three motions (i think) and interplay between them. Might be good to see his view on it.