Advice for a Dad...

Rich Jay

Hello,

This is my first post here and I appreciate any help regarding my son.
He just turned 4 and I'm wondering if it is too early for him to start instruction.
I know nothing about playing a drum kit so I can't really give him much help but he watches Buddy Rich videos all the time. : )
I want him to get a good teacher. Should I wait a few years?

This is him playing around a drum at the local music store when he was 2.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2joXRGZZg58

I'm located in Westchester NY.
Thanks so much for your time.

Hey Dad well first of all before I forget you can tell your son has been watching Buddy Rich Vids. LOL He's doing some of buddy's stickings and tricks on the snare drum. Priceless.

I started playing when I was 4. He's not to young. Get him going if he's into it. Getting him a good teacher is the hard part. Any habits he develops at such a young age will stay with him good and bad. So maybe start him off taking lessons from a guy with an old school approach that will start teaching him to read or maybe get him started on a book called stick control. Good luck

It's never too early to introduce someone to the drums. I introduced mine very young indeed, and one has continued to play.

That said I would provide drums for the youngster but not push them to play. Maybe get lessons for him but under the proviso that he can go at his own rate and quit the lessons at any time. Make playing fun...full stop.

I had a toy kit and a real drum at 4 and agree that as long as he gets to move along at his own pace, tips from a teacher would be invaluable.

That said I would provide drums for the youngster but not push them to play. Maybe get lessons for him but under the proviso that he can go at his own rate and quit the lessons at any time. Make playing fun...full stop.